//
you're reading...
animals, pets

Rooting for the Underdog

About a year ago I blogged about the death of Gaius Rattus. He was the last rat of four that I had owned over a span of 3 years or so. After his death I waited a long while before getting another pet for a few reasons; one being that technically pets weren’t allowed in my old apartment.

Since I moved back in April and since I’ve come to terms with the fact that I do not go out of town or out at night nearly as often as I used to, I decided to take the plunge and get a dog. I spent months looking at dogs available through various rescues via Petfinder. I didn’t have a particular breed in mind other than I didn’t want a lab (since I grew up with them and wanted something different) or a pitbull (because even though they are gorgeous and sweetie-pies, if I move back to Ontario I couldn’t keep it). I also knew I wanted an adult dog not only because they often are overlooked, but also because I wasn’t sure I’d be ready for housetraining all on my own.

Finally I saw a goofy-grinned dog that captured my heart.

I adopted Zeus, a five year old mutt, from Sophie’s Dog Adoption which is essentially a one-woman organization here in Montreal, but Zeus isn’t from Montreal. He’s not even Canadian; nope, this dog is from Lebanon. Sophie is one of the many North American animal rescue agencies that works with B.E.T.A., a rescue group in Beirut. If you’re sensitive to animal abuse, you may not want to read their website too deeply as they have some horrific stories posted about the animals they’ve rescued.  A couple years ago CBC even had a news story on BETA and their efforts. They also have a great video on YouTube (don’t worry, it’s sad but not graphic). I cannot tell you how glad I am there are people out there doing this kind of work; my Zeus is such a wonderful dog – so mellow and happy.

Of course not all dogs are lucky like Zeus. I heard about a wonderful art show starting this week, The Underdog Club via Montreal State of Mind. Not only does it showcase portraits of the old, the ugly and the unpopular dogs needing homes, it also is functioning as an adoption centre. That’s right, some of the featured dogs will be right there in the gallery! I hope some of these pups find a good home. If you click through the photos of the Adopted, you’ll see Zeus is there too!

The Underdog Club opens on September 11th from 6 to 9 p.m. and runs through to September 27th. The gallery is open Tuesdays to Sundays, 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. and is located at 4922 Sherbrooke St. W.

Zeus is complaining (i.e. giving me that brown-eyed look) that I’ve spent too much time writing this post instead of cuddling him (he’s a huge suck), so I’ll wrap this up but I hope wherever you are you have time to root for the underdog (or underrat, undercat, underferret… you get the point).

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

  • RT @erinbowbooks: Side note: it is of course Eid al Fitr, which is a SWELL time to schedule a public meeting about a Muslim centre. 9 hours ago
  • RT @rwlibrary: Register to spend your summer with us starting tomorrow! We’ve got crafts, games, entertainers, movies & more! https://t.co/… 17 hours ago
  • RT @AprilHathcock: 2 white librns on bus whining abt a lib that hasn't hired a white guy in yrs bc trying 2 incr diversity. "WM ARE a minor… 1 day ago

Delicious Bookmarks

