//
you're reading...
authors, books, canadian, reading

Joyland Author Reading at the Green Room

This past Monday I went to the Green Room (5386 St-Laurent) with a couple Twitter folks (yes, my social life revolves around Twitter, thanks for asking). The event was hosted by Joyland‘s Montreal editor David McGimpsey. A slew of authors did readings and I’m not sure I got all their names but included were Emily Schultz, Brian Joseph Davis, Sina Queyras (Expressway), Arjun Basu, Alison McMaster and others.

I enjoyed a lot of the readings, in particular McMaster, Queyras, Basu and Eva Moran. I purchased McMaster’s Beach Rot book, a handmade volume containing short stories. The collection includes “Lemon pie”, which is also available in full online on the Joyland site. I’m surprised at how I’m becoming a short story enthusiast; I wish I discovered them earlier in life!

A blog post from one of the authors (and co-founder of Joyland) on the Globe & Mail site tells you a bit more about the evening. You can play the “Where’s Jen?” game in the accompanying photo. I managed to miss the bartender’s dangerous “trip” because I was at the table buying the book at that moment. I’ll tell you about the time I saw a young woman do the same thing at frat house sometime though.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

